About

Dory @ Lucky Dorito on May 29th 2008

Outside the home, I am a full-time Registered Dental Hygienist. I love the field of dentistry although people tell those of us in my profession how much they DISLIKE us – daily. I’m used to it, after nearly 20 years of hearing such a thing. I consider myself to be rather fortunate actually – to be doing a job that I still LOVE and am passionate about after all these years.

At home, I sometimes fail miserably to be *everything* to *everybody* but, my family loves me anyway. (Thank goodness!) I would love to be able to keep the house neat and tidy and the laundry always done – but… that rarely ever happens. I’d much rather curl up on the couch and watch a movie with the girls then *do my chores*! What can I say? Housekeeping is NOT my strong suit.

Blogging became part of my life in 2006 on Windows Live Spaces – where I wrote (under a different nickname) and found an outlet of creative expression unmatched by any other forum in my life. I enjoy reading others’ blogs as much as I enjoy maintaining my own. I got tired of all the changes and mishaps that occurred on Spaces and eventually, wound up here. This blog is always a work in progress for me – as I hope to continue to expand certain areas over time. Hang with me a while and we’ll see where it goes!

My darling hubby (aka Mr. Lucky) and I have been married for 15 years as of September 2009. He is definitely my *better half*. Where I am hurried and restless, he is calm and serene. Where I am a true fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of gal, he is practical and grounded. We may differ on many fronts – but… we both value our marriage and our family. He is a wonderful man and I am a very *lucky* woman. :)

My oldest daughter, Suki, turned 24 years old in August 2009. She is a beautiful and smart young woman – whom I have enjoyed watching grow up over the years. She recently spent a year working with Habitat for Humanity in southern Florida, during her year long stint with AmeriCorps. It was a fabulous learning experience for her. Now she is fulfilling the first step towards her ultimate goal of working with animals by learning the ropes at a full-time doggy daycare and boarding facility in the big city of Nashville.

Our second born, Beebo, is 12 years old and a 7th grader. She is beautiful and incredibly intelligent for her age – she will do well in life, I’m sure. She is so much like her Dad; grounded, responsible and level-headed. We love talking to her – in all things from Nancy Drew mysteries to how banking interest is compounded daily. (Ok, her dad explained that last part – I took notes. ;) ) She is tender-hearted and loving.

Our youngest daughter, Luby, is 9 years old (going on 30) and a 4th grader. Holy moly… this child is our resident comedian, full of funny faces and stories. She keeps me in stitches so much of the time. I can always count on her to cheer me up if I’m having a bad day. She is the one that is quick to snuggle with me when watching a movie and still slips in bed with us when a bad dream wakes her up.

We share our home with two dogs and a cat. And fish. And the occasional possum. (Long story.)

Comments are closed at this time.